book sales, reading, writing technique

’Tis the Season!

(For the big annual library book sales.) Treasures, absolute treasures, for cheap.

imgres-2.jpg

My house looks like this, only not so neat.

Here in Connecticut we have huge discard sales, town by town, over the course of the summer. I look forward to them all year. The biggies near me are Newtown over the Fourth of July, and Redding, over Labor Day weekend, with smaller ones scattered in between.

First day, you pay double the marked price (usually one-two-three dollars.) Second day, you pay full price. Third day, half price. Fourth day, all you can pack into a carton for five dollars.

You walk into (generally) a school gymnasium and find tables set up by category. General fiction, biography, history, science, mystery, cooking. Fiction is broken up: current (the last decade or two) vintage (popular titles from farther back) and Literature, work that has been deemed for the ages. That’s where I head first.

In literature you’ll find the odd stuff, things you may never see again. In the past I’ve snagged lectures by a president of Harvard on ethics and philosophy, full of ideas for Sly to obsess over. And, a marvelous series, chatty passing-scene, part story/part social commentary, by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. (Not the judge.) That’s where I glommed onto Charles Reade, he of the mush plots and to-die-for description. The tattered volumes are a treasure trove of beautifully put comments on the human condition, such as used to be considered a worthy side-line to the plot, learned, often comically high-minded treatments that stuff perfectly into a mouth that I am always looking to furnish with know-it-all material. My guy is a scholarly sort, curious about every corner of life, beguiled, and infuriated, by the strange ways of the humankind.

I find goodies on many a table, but my heart belongs to classics. That’s where the sale organizers put anything of a certain age that they don’t know what else to do with. The sad thing is, over the four decades that I’ve been hitting these events, the selection of classics has shrunk and shrunk. The donated old-holdings have diminished in depth and variety. As the old-time book lovers decease and their musty shelves are donated by unappreciative heirs, the percentage of treacle best-sellers has grown and grown. Get the oddments now, before the glorious caches of vetted greats and screwball-sublime are no more. That tap won’t gush forever, a shame and a pity. I rummage through the oldie-moldies salivating, I swear to God. Any book with an unreadable spine, the odds are good it’s something tremendous.

Forget the writing manuals, those dreadful how-to’s, how to construct a story that will meet the expectations of the popular-fiction readers of today, demanding, according to those write-like-a-pro quick-tips, action-reaction. My library finds are the only school of writing I’ve ever had, and I am confident that the myriad and idiosyncratic voices from years untold have taught me well. I swear by characterization, and description, much despised these days, if you go by the on-line advice.

All this, of course, is not marketing. But a superb product (ideally) precedes a sales pitch. A dose of what has been done a century back opens your eyes to non-current approaches. You could do worse than to shoehorn some of that reflective-style into your thriller, or sci-fi, or whatever. No one of us on here needs to hear this, but to the less sophisticated, I say, take your blinders off. Read widely, outside your genre/comfort zone. The rich pickings at the library sales are the best (and least) money you’ll ever spend, and as fine an education than that from the esteemed Iowa Workshop. Get beyond another (usually tiresome) iteration of the sword-in-the-stone theme. How many civilizations needing to be saved from dark-lord baddies can we take, honestly, before we puke? No, the addition of a third-gender elf does not make it a must-read.

Vampires? I wear a necklace of garlic to the sales to protect me from vampire fiction. On Book Country a few years ago, the vampire-aficionados were wetting their pants over a new twist: a vampire enjoying the immoveable feast of a nursing home. More than a few thought this a stunningly new idea in a genre that’s been pretty well explored. I don’t have a high opinion of the quality of thought on many of the writer sites. That’s why I love this one.

Standard

11 thoughts on “’Tis the Season!

  1. atthysgage says:

    Mimi. Thanks for this splendid romp. Your observations are always a pleasure to read.

    As far as the modern style goes, I often find it tiresome, and though there ARE exceptional modern books that break through into popularity without succumbing to the need to be constantly grinding action and reaction, conflict and counter-conflict, they are few. Not many authors these days appreciate stillness, and it’s no wonder, because it’s always presented to them as the worst thing an author can do. (And, granted, it’s hard to do stillness and quietness well.) As a result, most modern books are busy, noisy and cluttered.

    Here endeth the lesson. children.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. GD Deckard says:

    I love book sales. Y’never know what y’ll find! Atthys has me looking for anything by Tiptree. But I always come away with something I wasn’t looking for. Kinda like life in general, book sales are full of delights.

    You are exactly right about the diminishing stocks of great books. This spring, I bought a couple from a carton of Franklin Mint books. Now, I wish I’d bought the whole carton. There is nothing like a well bound volume of new experiences.

    If library finds are your only school of writing, Mimi, you are well educated.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mimispeike says:

    Jay on Book Country was adamant that this is not the way to learn to write. I disagree.

    It’s the same thing with design. To understand the full range of what has been done opens your mind up to the endless, delightful possibilities. To see a designer, supposedly creative, go for the obvious is depressing.

    That’s why all the genre stuff leaves me cold. So many copycats. What a waste of energy.

    Actually, I had one writing class in my freshman year at Syracuse. I was put into it, in lieu of freshman English, because my English SAT was a certain score. But we had no instruction that I can recall, or even discussion. There must have been discussion. Well, it was a long time ago.

    The semester consisted of one assignment: write a piece, period. I got an A. I don’t remember a thing about what I submitted except that it was in a humorous vein similar to what I still write.

    Who’s Tiptree? OK, I googled her. I’ll look for her also, under her various names. If I find anything Atthys, I’ll read it, then mail it to you.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. mimispeike says:

    Jay is sure he has the answers. Curious to see what he writes, I read the Look Inside on four or five of his books on Amazon, found all action, no reveal of feelings or any human qualities at all. His characters are stick action figures, speaking his lines, hitting their marks, no (true-to-life scattered) internal conversation to let us in on who they are and no believable response to whatever stressful scene he’s dropped them into.

    Like with babies, our actors have starter tendencies based on our set-up, and they inevitably grow into themselves whether we like it or not. We writers do not own our creatures, if they are fully realized, as they ought to be and must be.

    Like

  5. atthysgage says:

    RE Tiptree. Her stories are remarkable, but her novels not so much. If you can find them, there are 4 or 5 short story collections and they all have some great stuff (and also a few problematic duds, but that happens.) I’d be happy to get into a more involved discussion about her. I’m sorry her stuff isn’t available anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mimispeike says:

    I will look for her in the sale coming up. Would she be on the classics table or on the sci-fi table? I’ll check both.

    Like

  7. GD Deckard says:

    Hi Mimi,
    I just re-read your blog. It invokes the excitement of used book sales and the joy of rooting around for treasures. I like this blog. Thank you.
    – GD

    Like

  8. atthysgage says:

    That could be fun. For me, anyway. I’ve got another post going into the hopper today, hopefully, but maybe I’ll do that next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

