About Writers, Uncategorized, Welcome, Writers Co-op

Welcome New Member Victor Aquista

“Not all those who wander are lost…”
~JRR Tolkein

Victor AcquistaDr. Victor Acquista has become a successful international author and speaker following careers as a primary-care physician and medical executive. He previously helped to co-found The Collaborative for Community Health, a non-profit, is a founding member of Rivervalley Market, a food co-op, and authored a syndicated Health and Wellness column. He is known for “writing to raise consciousness”.

His non-fiction and his workshops focus on personal growth and transformation, especially as pertains to health and wellness. His fiction includes social messaging intended to get the reader engaged in thought provoking themes.

Dr. Acquista has a longstanding interest in consciousness studies, is a student of Integral Theory, and strives to do his part to make our planet a wee bit better. He lives with his wife in Florida. He is a member of the Authors Guild, Writers Co-op, and is a Knight of the Sci-Fi Roundtable.
 – http://www.victoracquista.com/

Sentient
by Victor Acquista

Survivors from an almost absolute genocide flee through space/time to make an attempt at propagating their species. The architects of their race’s destruction realize that their mission was incomplete. The resulting conflict will be waged on our home planet where a troubled physicist, his young neighbor, and an artificial intelligence may prove to be key in deciding the outcome.

Welcome to the Writers Co-op, Victor!

Standard

13 thoughts on “Welcome New Member Victor Aquista

  1. mimispeike says:

    Welcome, Victor. Tell us more about yourself.

    Who are your favorite authors? What was your experience with (self?) publishing? Smooth hop-skip, or bumps in the yellow brick road? Tips for the rest of us? Are you working on another book?

    Take it away, Victor.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. victoracquista says:

    Thanks for the warm welcome! I had a very enjoyable lunch with Gary last week; he told me about this fine group. I am still settling into Florida–moved here from New Mexico just in time for a hurricane. Have lived most of my life in the Northeast.

    Writing is my third career. Previously I worked as a primary care internist and then as an administrative/executive physician. The last 3+ years have been focused on writing and some speaking. I have two self-help health books that I self-published. Both use Integral Theory (I won’t elaborate on this for the moment, but I have been a proponent of using this conceptual framework for over a dozen years). Last October, my debut sci-fi novel was published by a small press. Reviews have been great, but not so for sales. I have another full length fiction novel that I am currently pitching. It is part one of a two-book series, but I have not yet started the second book. It is an adventure novel with quite a bit of esoteric elements. Would like to find an agent for this novel, but attempts thus far have only yielded frustration.

    Presently I am working on a satire. Am about 70% done with the first draft. I like to characterize myself as “writing to raise consciousness” and am drawn to many different genres. I prefer fiction as I find this to be more creatively stimulating. The evolution of consciousness, both for individuals and collectively, is a topic I am enthralled with. I have a short story that I am currently pitching to sci-fi magazines. I had another accepted (along with the esteemed GD Deckard) in the SciFi Roundtable Anthology, “The Quantum Soul”. I have written quite a few health and wellness columns, posts, etc. over the years, but I find my enthusiasm for this sort of exposition to have diminished considerably

    I have used a variety of approaches to market including Amazon Marketing Services (AMS), Twitter promotions, Fiver, targeted FB ads. None have been especially successful. I consider myself a novice in this writing endeavor. Still on a learning curve when it comes to being an author, but the same can be said about life in general. Still learning; although, the slope of the curve has flattened a bit.

    Hope this gives enough information to be helpful. http://www.writingtoraiseconsciousness.com provides some additional background about me. I have a second website (www.pathstohealth.info) that provides more information about what I value.

    Looking forward to traveling together…

    –Victor

    Liked by 3 people

    • mimispeike says:

      Satire! You’ve said the magic word. I like nothing better than smart, acidic humor. Which is why I love GD’s sweetly acidic Old Spice ramble. Have you read it?

      I look forward to reading your work.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Old Spice says:

        “…sweetly acidic Old Spice ramble.” ??
        His Spaceness may arch his, er, my eyebrow at that!”
        – Lizbeth, ventriloquist doll and Official Translator to Old Spice,
        Alien & Earth Mission Commander

        Liked by 2 people

      • victoracquista says:

        No, but I plan to. Now I feel pressured to be smart and acidic. I must warn you that my wife has accused me of being the only one who laughs at my humor. I stand guilty as charged, but occasionally find a kindred soul. I have also been told I have vast powers of autoamusement. Indeed, just writing the word brings a bemused smile to my face. If you are nodding in agreement, then I may pass your litmus test

        Liked by 2 people

        • mimispeike says:

          ‘I have also been told I have vast powers of autoamusement.’

          I don’t need to be told. I know it already. Comes of being a loner, I suppose. I entertained myself from an early age. For years that consisted of reading. Now it is equal parts reading and writing.

          Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

