90 responses to “In the Spotlight: Sue Ranscht”

  1. Sandy Randall Avatar

    The Hobbit. It’s been a year or two since my last foray into middle earth. I may need to get lost there again. Tolkien’s world resides ever in me. It is a vast world and there is always something new to see.
    Thank you for sharing your spotlight! I have some “new” reads to explore!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Sue Ranscht Avatar

    Cool. Which titles interest you most?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      Ive never heard of W.H. Hudson’s “Green Mansions” so I’ll be looking for that.
      Terry Pratchett has always held spots on my list but you’ve mentioned Night Watch a few times.
      UKLG I’ve never given a try … not sure why but better late than never!
      I’m still somewhere in the middle of my third attempt of the Silmarillion. Maybe I’ll finish it. The funny part … I do get immersed when I’m reading it, but it’s work for me to pick it up. For me it’s reading that requires more attention than I sometimes possess.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

        The first Le Guin book I read was The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia. (It became a TV series and a movie.) The book came out in 1974, and my son read it in school almost 25 years later. He recommended it to me when I decided to read Anthem, a short work by Ayn Rand — also the only writing of hers I ever read. But you could start with Le Guin’s YA series The Earthsea Cycle or any of her short story anthologies, like Changing Planes. Not at all what you expect.

        Liked by 4 people

  3. Mike Van Horn Avatar

    I’d forgotten about “Motorcycle Maintenance.” That was a mind-changing book for me.

    You and I agree on LeGuin. I’ve read most of her books–both fantasy and sci fi.

    I’ve used Silmarillian more as a reference book. Trying to match up the land masses in its maps with those in LOTR. Parts of it are slow going–all the elf wars. But it has the best creation story I’ve ever read–far better than we get with any extant religion.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      Mind-changing is right. During what time of your life did you read Motorcycle Maintenance, Mike? I’ve often wondered if it would have hit me as hard if I’d been 30 years older.

      I, too, read as much Le Guin as I could access through San Diego’s library system which is extensive. I think I actually purchased Earthsea and The Dispossessed.

      We also agree about The Silmarillion’s creation story.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

        I read Motorcycle Maintenance as an adult–20s or 30s. Long time ago.

        Earthsea is actually a double trilogy. LeGuin’s style evolved somewhat in the later books, and her characters also got older. Ged as an older retired mage. Outstanding dragon characters!

        Liked by 4 people

  4. John Correll Avatar

    OMG, how do you manage to limit yourself to only ten pages a day of Pratchett? I usually read his books in a few days, and then after a year or so, I read them again. Neil Gaiman’s okay, but he just doesn’t know how to make a good ending, at least for me. It always seems to be missing something. I felt that both with the first London Below book and Star Dust. I’ve also really tried with Le Guin, but for some reason, I find her stories just don’t work for me. I was thinking of reading The Book Thief, but you’re making me rethink whether it is worth it. Thanks for sharing your world of books, Sue. The Spotlight is always a joy to read. 

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      Lol! Discipline, John, discipline. I enjoy Pratchett too much to hurry him along; I want to savor his work. Besides, there are so many more books by so many more authors I want to read or re-read and only so many hours, days, years left to take them all on.

      I haven’t been disappointed by any of Gaiman’s works, but I think one of the reasons I like him so well is that his stuff is unusual and quirky. It always makes me consider things I haven’t thought about before. You might enjoy Good Omens, which he wrote with Terry Pratchett, and he’s quick to give Pratchett credit for all the humor. You might enjoy the television series even more than the book. How do you feel about David Tennant, who plays the fallen angel Crowley whose best friend is an angel who hasn’t fallen? They’re both popular characters in the cosplay community. Maybe the “missing element” you sense in Gaiman’s work is humor. His stories do dwell in strange, dark worlds.

      So when will you send your answers for In the Spotlight?

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

        My favorite Neil Gaiman book is American Gods. Long and rambling, but the concepts in there are paradigm shattering.

        Liked by 6 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          I’ve been working my way through that one for some time now, but I will definitely finish it.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

            Gods exist when — or because — people believe in them. When we stop believing, the gods fade. But they fight to stay in existence, even though greatly diminished. They battle. That’s American Gods.

            That’s as good as in the Silmillarian, Iluvatar and the Valar sing the world into existence harmoniously, then Melkor introduces a discordant note. I wonder if our universe came into existence because the cosmic harmony was disrupted by a discordant note.

            Sounds like a good sci fi story.

            Liked by 5 people

            1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

              It does. Do you want to write It?

              Liked by 5 people

              1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

                Who would be my protagonist? Unless I told it like an ancient galactic myth, comparable to that in Silmarlllian.

                Liked by 4 people

                1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

                  Maybe I’ll give it a try during one of our feedback sessions.

                  Liked by 4 people

                2. Sue Ranscht Avatar

                  Hmm. It might be interesting to make the being who introduces the discordant note the protagonist. . .

                  Liked by 2 people

                  1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

                    You got me going. Last night I scribbled out a short piece — 3 1/2 journal pages — a creation story based on the one in Silmarillion, but with some cosmological cred. It doesn’t have a protagonist; it’s more like a tale told around a campfire late at night by the ancient elder. I’ll type it up today and send it to you, should you want to publish it on this forum somewhere.

                    Liked by 4 people

                  2. Sandy Randall Avatar

                    Mike it would be perfect for WIP. I would love to see what you have. Or another idea…
                    Sue, in addition to spotlight blogs … Mike has given me some ideas… I’ll email them to you … I’m at Les Schwab getting my tires to play nice with each other… when I get home….

                    Liked by 4 people

      2. John Correll Avatar

        Sue, I think Gaiman is better as a screenwriter. I liked the Good Omens TV series, but I also liked David Tennant (the best Doctor Who). The book made me realize that Pratchett writes best on his own. I still read Gaiman’s books since they’re a lot more interesting than the heaps of other drivel out there. Still, for me, I see room for improvement on his part.

        Liked by 5 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          I know he was a screenwriter for the Neverwhere series (London Below), but he wasn’t allowed to write it exactly as he wanted it, so he wrote the novel — which I really liked.

          Liked by 4 people

      3. Sandy Randall Avatar

        Neil Gaiman is one of my favorites. I like his story telling style. Attempting to be more specific, but I like cadence of his writing. Good Omens is definitely one of my favorites, Sandman is as well. I did not read Sandman, but listened to the episodes on audible. His world building in that series amazes me.

        Liked by 4 people

  5. Carl E. Reed Avatar

    Very much enjoyed reading your responses, Sue!

    I read ZATAMM (what an acronym; heh!) when I was 50., still tooling around on a 1800-cc v-twin motorcycle on the weekends. Thoroughly enjoyed it. As for Le Guin: I’m currently rereading The Language of the Night. Required reading for any fans of fantasy or science-fiction, I should think.

    I did arch a brow over your comment re: The Kite Runner. (I have not read that particular book, but have certainly read my fair share of “bearing witness to atrocity” literature. Primo Levi, Turn Me Into Zeus’s Daughter (please check that out!), hundreds of war memoirs–to name but a few examples, right off the top of my head.)

    I understand The Kite Runner is a very disturbing read. Do you not find it necessary, however, to occasionally . . . well, let Franz Kafka say it, for I think he says it best:

    …………………

    “I think we ought to read only the kind of books that wound or stab us. If the book we’re reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for? So that it will make us happy . . . ? Good Lord, we would be happy precisely if we had no books, and the kind of books that make us happy are the kind we could write ourselves if we had to. But we need books that affect us like a disaster, that grieve us deeply, like the death of someone we loved more than ourselves, like being banished into forests far from everyone, like a suicide. A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us. That is my belief.”

    ……………………

    My quibble with this sentiment is Kafka’s assertion that these are the ONLY kind of books we should read. Surely this goes too far! A little Poe; a little Tolkien. A shot of Camus or Ligotti; followed by a Thurber or Bradbury chaser. Moderation in all things . . .

    My point is: I feel that certain challenging books deepen and enrich one’s humanity, turning–over time–a silly, superficial person into one more grounded and present, possessed of both gravitas and empathy in greater measure than they might otherwise have.

    What say you?

    PS. However, please understand that this is not to prescribe for all. One suffering trauma might well (and wisely) avoid all such triggering material.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

      This system seems impervious to typing em dashes! I read “turning–over time–a silly, superficial person” as containing two hyphenated terms, so it took me a second read to get what you were saying. I have the same trouble in my comments.

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

        Yep! It doesn’t like the long dash; heh!

        Liked by 4 people

      2. Mellow Curmudgeon Avatar

        Try typing “&” followed by “mdash” followed by “;” (all w/o any spacing).

        —

        Liked by 5 people

          1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

            Lol! Indeed. Thanks, Mellow!

            I’ll try it—right now.

            Liked by 5 people

            1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

              Another test — more words…

              Liked by 6 people

              1. Sandy Randall Avatar

                The term “Word Press Emdash test pilots” come to mind watching these attempts …

                Liked by 6 people

                1. Mellow Curmudgeon Avatar

                  WP has a new bad habit in the category of trying to save users from themselves. Instead of honoring the HTML “entity” code we write for an em dash, WP assumes that the ampersand part of the code was intended as a literal ampersand and coerces it to the code for a literal ampersand. Arrggghhhh!

                  Liked by 5 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          Mellow, that’s not very sleek, lol.

          Liked by 5 people

      3. Sue Ranscht Avatar

        I just use space-dash-dash-space: — like that. If I copy/paste it from somewhere else, it looks like this — perfect! Actually, it works without the copy/paste, too.

        Liked by 7 people

        1. Mellow Curmudgeon Avatar

          Good news for a change!

          Liked by 4 people

        2. Mike Van Horn Avatar

          Thanks, I’ll try this

          Liked by 4 people

    2. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      When I saw Clockwork Orange for the first time — when it originally came out in theaters and was rated X — all that gratuitous violence was so extreme, it was cathartic. I honestly felt no need to ever be violent or allow violence to impose on my life. (Curiously, they cut 30 seconds from the end shots of him and the girl in the snow and re-rated it R. I’ve never understood that.) When I decided to watch it again, decades later, just taking the DVD off the shelf caused my heart to pound.

      I understand the value such literature could have for both the writer and the readers, Especially if the readers don’t pay attention to the news. Mass shootings. Knifings. Neglected, abused children. Domestic abuse. Terrorism. War atrocities. Famine. Diseases wiping out impoverished people whose countries haven’t provided access to any kind of affordable health care or vaccines and wealthy nations don’t help enough. It’s all happening all the time. And every time, it tears out a little more of my soul. I cry real tears. I no longer feel a need to read it just because it’s artfully presented. Our inhumanity is well documented in real time, and thoroughly heartbreaking.

      I agree Kafka is over the line suggesting that’s all people should read, but I respectfully decline.

      Liked by 6 people

      1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

        I can understand that. It took me years to steel myself to watch Schindler’s List; I knew the film would be emotionally devastating.

        Liked by 5 people

    3. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      And I meant to mention that I received an email from Hippocampus Press yesterday. Your book is on the way!

      Liked by 4 people

      1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

        Thank you, Sue. However — given all that we’ve just discussed — that book is not for you! (Avoid “Come Haltingly, On Lame Feet” and “Ronin: The Combat Journal of Mark Bullet”. ) In fact, I would advise any reader not to read more than one poem or story in that a book a week. “To every thing there is a season”, eh?)

        Stephen King recently remarked (in his afterword to You Like It Darker) “Horror stories are best appreciated by those who are compassionate and empathetic,” Yes; because of course those are the very people most effected by that kind of material.

        I was recently asked to describe my book for Hippocampus Press. Here are some of my responses (intended for reviewers and book agents):

        What features distinguish your book from others in the field?

        Dark Matter is a collection of weird tales and poetry that range in style and tone from outright tales of terror and horror to dark satire and farce.

        Cities where your book might be particularly well received:

        Chicago. New York. Providence, Rhode Island. (Truly, I have no idea! Posthumously, Poe was saluted and revered by the French . . . )

        In about 250 words, please give a summary/description of your book. The description should emphasize the significance of your book and any unique or unusual features it has—that is, the major points the press should stress in its promotion of your book.

        Dark Matter: Weird Stories & Poetry is the debut collection from Chicago-based writer Carl E. Reed, featuring his best work of the last two decades. S. T. Joshi has characterized the book’s collected material as having been written “with assurance and panache”. Though the stories and poetry vary widely in style, thematic content and tone, all have been written with one overriding aim: to move the human heart. Characters are oftentimes pushed to the brink of psychological and physical endurance –and beyond.  These are genre tales written with a decidedly (to use Prof. Laurence Perrine’s term) “interpretive literary bent”. They probe into the heart of darkness which comprises the human condition. The reader may flinch; the prose does not. At their best they move the reader to pity (in the ancient Greco-Roman sense of the term) as they fathom the “lacrimae rerum”:  tears in the nature of things.

        In about 50 words, please give a short summary of your book. This description would include the book’s central idea and major points that support it.

        Savage tales of terror and horror set in the recent past, current time, near future and the farthest reaches of time and space.

        Signature:   Carl E. Reed                        Date: 05-09-24

        …………………….

        All of this is to say: I readily recognize and acknowledge that not all books are for all people.

        Liked by 5 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          Thanks for the advisory. I’ll approach it in that once-a-week way.

          Liked by 5 people

          1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

            “Cold Tickle” and “The Strange & Curious Tale of Prof. Robert Howard Wilson” are Lovecraftian farces. “Not a Vampire” is serio-comedic. We consciously leavened the dark tales with lighter work. “Samhain Eve: A Celtic Tale”, “Motauqwa Means Mountain” and “The Moebius Strip-Trip” are the stories I am most proud of. Just an FYI.

            Liked by 5 people

  6. Mellow Curmudgeon Avatar

    I don’t read about abuse and violence for recreation either, but Hillenbrand’s Unbroken has much more than that.  Zamperini endures an ocean plane crash, weeks on a life raft after meager supplies run out, horrific POW abuse, and finally PTSD.  He recovers and outlives his main tormentor in a fact-based tale of survival by ingenuity, phenomenal memory, and refusal to give up.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      But the torture and abuse before that actually changed the way I think about the Japanese culture. That was a disappointing revelation.

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        I haven’t read that either and I agree the stuff you can readily be assault by with the news tends to find itself in my pleasure reading list. However, You both have piqued my interest with just a few comments.

        My step-dad’s father was interred in a Japanese pow camp in Indonesia during WWII. He didn’t talk about it, but his mother told me of her experience with the Japanese and the torture she endured when she and other women got caught sneaking food to the prisoners. I think learning her experience gave me a broader view of how the world works. There is no issue that is not complicated and not have some degree of complexity that makes simple solutions at best impossible and at worst just a bandaid that further exacerbates problems.

        To that point I agree with Carl, reading things that make you feel the experience deeply can also expand your world. I feel as writers it just adds to our kit, providing us with more experience to draw on. In fact as I am writing Vor’s grief I have been reading essays of people who have lost their parents. I do not have that experience … yet. Nor am I in a hurry to get there. I prefer that reads.

        I did read Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns. I wouldn’t say I enjoyed the reads, but I did appreciate them.

        Liked by 5 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          I believe I was in my late 50s, early 60s when I read both Unbroken and The Kite Runner. I’m curious how your reading taste will evolve by your early 70’s. I think we may become less willing to spend time exposing ourselves to truly horrific things when they are optional as the time in front of us dwindles. A self-preserving been-there-done-that rejection in the pursuit of serenity and mental health in an undeniably, often violently-cruel world.

          Liked by 5 people

          1. Sandy Randall Avatar

            Ugh I skipped a couple of words
            First of all assault should be assaulted
            And tends to NOT find itself in my pleasure reading list… amazing how a tiny word changes an entire sentence! 😝

            I’ve already noticed a change to my reading diet. Things I enjoyed up through my 30s began to change in my forties. The more life I experienced really has dictated the reads I consume. The last ten years of my time at United involved a lot of contract and legal reading. Reading for pleasure dwindled until my daughter introduced me to audible. I was reluctant at first but my commute had increased to two hours each direction. Audio books became a source of pleasure. Both of my daughters contributed to my reading list.
            It was interesting to see what they were reading.

            Liked by 5 people

            1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

              Glad to hear the “NOT” in your pleasure reading list, lol!

              Liked by 4 people

  7. GD Deckard Avatar

    Sue,
    Your earliest reading memory, “I was 2 years old” is familiar. I remember being read to as an infant on my uncle’s lap. We also read to our own kids when they were two. Wife even used flash cards to teach them words. My daughter now writes novels.

    We writers benefit most by having our world expanded beyond the immediate.

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      My mom made my older sister use flash cards with me when I was four. My sister was six and they were the flash cards from her first grade class, lol.

      Liked by 4 people

  8. GD Deckard Avatar

    I have half an idea: Let’s publish an anthology of “Stories From The Co-op.” Each of us can contribute a story. Not just us active posters, we could email an invitation to all members to get enough stories to fill the book.

    Any interest?

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Barb Woolard Avatar

      Would they all have to be fictional stories?

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        I don’t see why they would have to be fictional … Stories from the Co-op could be anything.

        Liked by 6 people

        1. Barb Woolard Avatar

          Agreed. And then I can be included. 🙂

          Liked by 6 people

    2. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      I like it. While everybody probably has a story stuck away in a drawer, remember to check your old Show Case posts. There are 74 issues to go back to, all of which are available by hovering over “Show Case” here.

      Liked by 6 people

  9. Carl E. Reed Avatar

    Riffing off of GD (I want to read that Vietnam memoir, sir!) : My suggestion/enquiry is a far more modest one: How would the gang feel about sharing a paragraph or two from any current work they have in progress? Not a showcase, not a solicitation for critique, but simply a blog post comprised of succinct WIPs. People could choose to comment — or not — as they wish. Might start a conversation re: I was intrigued (or not) by . . .

    PS. Thought behind this: Possibly attract new members who might not otherwise see work (rightly) hidden behind the WIP tab.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      Sandy had a similar idea and we’re working on how that will happen. Stay tuned. 😉

      Liked by 5 people

    2. GD Deckard Avatar

      Thanks for the prod, Carl. Last month I got stuck on a scene with three napalm victims. The memory simply wasn’t there even though I was the medic who tended them on the medivac flight to the burn center at Andrews AFB. But you just got me back to it. I remember enough to get the point across: our military used napalm on them (ironically called friendly fire) and spent a lot of effort, time, and money to save them while knowing that was not possible.

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        I had a much better experience at Andrews … both of my daughters were born there!

        Liked by 3 people

  10. Carl E. Reed Avatar

    And where is Tom Wolosz? (Atthys Gage left us long ago, alas!) Mimi.? Mike Hagan? Victor? Curtis? The ranks have thinned, methinks . . .

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      You can find Tom knee deep in RH7! Mimi and Curtis have been quite active in WIP Wednesday, and Victor has been around commenting here and there!

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        You can also find Mimi on Show case regularly.

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

          Yes; I meant where is Mimi here. . . on this blog post. Invitation to chime in.

          Liked by 4 people

          1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

            Mimi contributes blog posts as often as she can. (Her life has been very full of late.) You can check for them through the Home Page, but here’s her most recent post, not counting her In the Spotlight in April.

            Liked by 4 people

    2. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      Alas, indeed. I miss Atthys, too.

      Liked by 4 people

    3. Chip Pentium, A.H. Avatar
      Chip Pentium, A.H.

      Bing Chat just told me:
      “Atthys Gage lives on the coast of Northern California with his long-suffering wife, strong-willed children, and several indifferent chickens. You can find out more about him on his website.”

      But the website no longer exists and the latest Google reference to him is from a Facebook comment in Oct 2016. Eight years later, Atthys is still missed.

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

        Sounds like the first move of a private investigator, Chip. Chip Pentium, A.H.P.I. Have you ever used the alias Robin Ellacott?

        Liked by 4 people

        1. Chip Pentium, A.H. Avatar
          Chip Pentium, A.H.

          Nope 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

    4. mimispeike Avatar
      mimispeike

      I am feeling overwhelmed at the moment. I can barely keep up with Show Case and WIP, but I’ll try to find something. Taking care of my husband, who is pretty immobile, is also a factor.

      Liked by 7 people

      1. mimispeike Avatar
        mimispeike

        GD-would Miss Spider’s Dinner Date, rejected by RH, be welcome here?

        Liked by 4 people

        1. GD Deckard Avatar

          Yes, Mimi! After all, here, we decide.

          Liked by 5 people

      2. Carl E. Reed Avatar

        Sending long distance:

        :::hugs:::

        Liked by 7 people

        1. mimispeike Avatar
          mimispeike

          Enjoy sixty, Carl. Seventy-eight sucks.

          Liked by 5 people

    5. Carl E. Reed Avatar

      Forgot to mention Perry! Sorry, Perry.

      PS. My only point being: The more writers chime in with comments on these blog posts, the more the site resembles (faintly) the old Book Country site. Energizing, free-wheeling discussions of all things related to the craft.

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

        Would that we could wring comments from the 1400+ people who receive our weekly posts.

        Liked by 5 people

        1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

          WHAT?! You’re kidding!

          Liked by 3 people

          1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

            No kidding. I have no idea how many of them pay any attention at all, but I did purge all the names with defunct email addresses.

            Liked by 3 people

        2. mimispeike Avatar
          mimispeike

          1400! How do you know that?

          Liked by 3 people

          1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

            There’s a list, and WP tells me how many people have been sent the post.

            Liked by 3 people

  11. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    “Sure, I read Nancy Drew, too, but she always seemed much older and old fashioned. She drove a roadster, for gosh sakes.”

    Well, that was the attraction, wasn’t it? We wanted to be older, and independent. She didn’t seem old-fashioned to me, but I must be ten-twenty years older than you.

    As for The Book Thief: I enjoyed the psychological depth of the story. I loved every page of it and wouldn’t have the tale told any other way.

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      The original Nancy Drew stories took place in the 1930s – ’40s. You’re only 5 years older than I am, but that represents much the difference between junior high and high school. At least halfway through high school we might be driving. As a 10-12-year old, that wasn’t even part of my thinking, lol.

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        I was already driving at age 12 … My dad was a driver’s ed instructor… fearless with young drivers. Of course he basically took us out to the middle of nowhere in western Colorado, put the jeep in four wheel low mode (’72 CJ5 with first, second, third and reverse) … we would drive all over the “dobies” (slang for adobe … which was what locals call the clay/shale terrain in western Colorado) while he went fishing. Wasn’t much to run into out there and in 4 wheel low top speed was about 25mph.

        I was raised like a boy … girl stuff was laughed at.

        Liked by 6 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          Hahaha! I was raised like a boy, too. By the time I was 9, I could tell you how combustion engines and airfoils worked, but driving and flying were not part of my approved activities, lol. Besides, it wouldn’t have mattered who authorized it if I drove; it still would have been illegal.

          Liked by 3 people

          1. Sandy Randall Avatar

            It was sort of illegal when I was twelve also … however, there were so many family run ranches and orchards where I grew up that kids had to learn to drive young to be able to help out. I was only unique because my dad wasn’t a rancher or farmer … he was a teacher and we lived in town. My brother and I had summer jobs on the various ranches and orchards, however driving was almost an expected skill as was riding a horse.

            Liked by 4 people

            1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

              In California, I would have to be at least 13 to drive a low-powered tractor on my family’s farm. No passengers allowed with 13-16-year old tractor drivers and no public roads.

              Liked by 3 people

              1. Sandy Randall Avatar

                Yeah … California was always a bit more strict. Colorado likes to think it’s still the Wild West … lol

                Liked by 4 people

  12. Chip Pentium, A.H. Avatar
    Chip Pentium, A.H.

    Three geese in a flock
    one flew east
    one flew west
    one flew over the cuckoo’s nest

    …sorry. Every once in a while, that just comes out.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      As an artificial human, you might thrive as the inmate leader in a mental institution rebellion.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Chip Pentium, A.H. Avatar
        Chip Pentium, A.H.

        😂 Me & Ken Kesey 🤣

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          Yes, indeed. You shall be known by the company you keep.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Chip Pentium, A.H. Avatar
            Chip Pentium, A.H.

            🤔 & when I die, I shall spend eternity in a small room with them and Jean-Paul Sartre 😉

            Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment