Margret has been an active member of Writers Co-op for several years, and has written a number of posts for us. She has had stories published in Sci-Fi Lampoon Magazine and other publications, but has a love/hate relationship with the story market in general. Her love of reading started early.


25 responses to “In the Spotlight: Margret Treiber”

  1. Chip Pentium Avatar
    Chip Pentium

    My favorite Douglas Adams character was Marvin, the robot. Our heroes leave him standing deep in a coal mine, saying they’ll be right back. But their spaceship travels through time as well as space and they come back 27 million years later. Marvin is depressed.

    Remember his lullaby, Margret?
    Now I lay me down to bed,
    Darkness won’t engulf my head,
    I can see by infra-red,
    How I hate the night.

    Liked by 9 people

    1. themargret Avatar
      themargret

      I think Marvin was ahead of the curve.

      Liked by 5 people

  2. Mike Van Horn Avatar

    I really enjoy reading these. It’s a great way for us to get to know each other better.

    Liked by 9 people

    1. GD Deckard Avatar

      Mike 😉 you are exactly right, and your words motivated me to add the below photo of three of us.

      Liked by 7 people

  3. GD Deckard Avatar

    The best quest in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy may have been the search for God’s last words to mankind. After many pointless adventures, Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect arrive at the planet where the words are inscribed. They stand in a long line winding past souvenir kiosks to finally reach the top of a hill where (coin operated) telescopes allow them to read God’s last words to mankind inscribed on a distant cliff face: “We apologize for the inconvenience.”

    Liked by 7 people

  4. GD Deckard Avatar

    Victor Aquista, GD Deckard, and Margret Treiber

    Liked by 9 people

    1. themargret Avatar
      themargret

      I was skinnier then. 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

    2. victoracquista Avatar
      victoracquista

      Thanks for that photo, GD! That was a fun time! I didn’t know Margret was a Douglas Adams fan, we would have talked about that at length.

      Margret, you might want to check at Southwest Writers. They are Albuquerque based but are a good group. They also host Bubonicon, a conference i think you would enjoy.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. themargret Avatar
        themargret

        Thanks! Albuquerque it pretty far north for me. I’m all the way south-central. But I may check them out anyway. There’s got to be at least a few of them down here.

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Sandy Randall Avatar

          There are some notable writers from NM
          I used to see George RR Martin when he’d fly somewhere… he had a place in Santa Fe or Taos area

          Liked by 3 people

          1. victoracquista Avatar
            victoracquista

            Yes, George RR Martin is up north but he has been featured at a number of Bubonicons. I attended a session where he read from his next installment in Song of Ice and Fire. That was about 8 years ago. Still waiting for that book to come out. LOL!

            Liked by 3 people

            1. Sandy Randall Avatar

              I wish I had known about Bubonicons when I lived there! Definitely going to check it out!

              Liked by 2 people

            2. Sandy Randall Avatar

              Oooohh the next one is on August!

              Liked by 3 people

  5. Sue Ranscht Avatar

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anyone hunting down Dick and Jane books, lol.

    I was already well out of college when I first encountered Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy when NPR broadcast the radio show in 1978. One of my sisters made cassette recordings of them for me, and I listen to them every few years — most recently about four years ago. I have (and have read) all the Hitchhiker-related books, as well as The Original Hitchhiker Radio Scripts, Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul, The Salmon of Doubt, and The Deeper Meaning of Liff. Douglas Adams was not only brilliant, but he was an artist with adverbs. He is the reason I do not fear them.

    Liked by 9 people

    1. victoracquista Avatar
      victoracquista

      So much to celebrate in the writing of Douglas Adams.

      Liked by 4 people

  6. GD Deckard Avatar

    You can easily see that Douglas Adam’s sense of humor influenced Margret’s writing in this very original book.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. themargret Avatar
      themargret

      That is very kind of you.

      Liked by 5 people

  7. Carl E. Reed Avatar

    Thanks for sharing, Margret! I enjoyed reading your responses.

    Liked by 8 people

    1. themargret Avatar
      themargret

      Thank you!

      Liked by 5 people

  8. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    This is great fun, thank you. I have never read ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’. You have inspired me to do so.

    Liked by 7 people

  9. Sandy Randall Avatar

    I love how the questions lead you on a journey of a writer’s literary life.

    It’s also fun to know the books that accompanied the writer’s journey. I read Hitchhikers Guide in my early 20’s. My first husband introduced me to Douglas Adams work as well as Philip Jose Farmer writing as Kilgore Trout “Venus on the Halfshell”, and of course Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S Thompson. My ex was enamored with the 60’s. I think he hated he was born in 59 and missed the fun of being a young adult during the 60’s. I am grateful to him for expanding my reading selection.

    Stephen R Donaldson. I read his Lord Foul Bane series. I enjoyed it when I read it, but it’s meh now. That leads me to believe there are certain books and genres that get you where you need to be, but once read a revisit is pointless. Then there are the books that you will re-read to your last breath, still gleaning wisdom or pleasure from, every single time.

    I’m looking forward to reading your book, Margaret. Thank you GD for promoting it here!

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

      My decade was the ’70s, even though I was born in the ’40s. Got my MBA, spent time in the North Woods as a hippie potter, back to LA, met the love of my life, started my first business, our daughter was born, moved from LA to Northern CA. I loved the music. Music of the ’70s, movies of the ’80s.

      Even though I’m writing science fiction, I read many more non-fiction books. And I’ve never done video games, which form the basis of so many stories.

      This should be added to my profile.

      Liked by 7 people

    2. themargret Avatar
      themargret

      A close friend of mine was obsessed with Hunter S Thompson but it took me a while to get it. Now I regret not catching on sooner.

      I hope my book lives up to the hype. :) As far as I know, there is only one typo in it. 

      Liked by 3 people

  10. victoracquista Avatar
    victoracquista

    Fear and Loathing is a blast. I soured on Donaldson after a while. In my youth, I enjoyed his writing more.

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a comment