Mimi is an original member of Writers Co-op. She’s contributed many posts, but when Mimi’s name comes up, you probably think of a talking cat and a richly communicated history hundreds of years in our past with just a touch of creative interpretation. Yet she never wanted to be a writer.

A note from Sue: If you’d like to be In the Spotlight, answer the same questions Mimi did and send your answers in the body of an email (no attachments, please) to me at stranscht@sbcglobal.net. Feel free to include a very brief bio with a couple items you’d like people here to know about you.


14 responses to “Mimi Speike: In the Spotlight”

  1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

    Another excellent Spotlight. Thanks Mimi, very enjoyable read. I’ve never read “The Book Thief,” so this is the first I learned about painting “Mein Kampf” pages with white house paint. Very funny!

    Liked by 8 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      If I ever survive an apocalypse, and I can’t find anything to write on … I am going hunting for books I detest so I can improve them with my version of white out…

      Liked by 7 people

  2. Sandy Randall Avatar

    I know you’ve mentioned the house in Florida with all the books, but in my head it turned into a story I read somewhere. There … you are truly a storybook heroine! I’m glad Sly enticed you into writing his story. I have learned so much from you. I have fallen in love with footnotes because of you. Keep writing dear lady. You do our craft much justice!

    Liked by 10 people

    1. mimispeike Avatar
      mimispeike

      GD recommended I read.The Book Thief because of its structure. The author inserts collateral information, but not in footnotes, in the body of the story. I will stick with my footnotes, which are far more flexible in terms of commenting on anything under the sun.

      Liked by 7 people

    2. victoracquista Avatar
      victoracquista

      Since I now live in Florida and am aghast at the willingness to ban books, essentially weaponizing them in the culture wars, the idea of a secret, private library in someone’s home has me thinking. A place to lend and read banned books and discuss the ideas within. Instead of doing the typical teen “misdeeds” of drugs and sex, the truly anti-establishment teen will secretly partake in this literary underground.

      I was on an author panel once with a very successful author who shared his success story–a book he had written appeared on a list of banned books. It immediately launched his career from obscure to famous.

      Liked by 6 people

      1. GD Deckard Avatar

        🤔 Maybe, it’s harder to get banned these days, since subjects that were traditionally banned, aren’t?

        Liked by 5 people

  3. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    The beauty of Sly is that I can weave almost anything into it. A tale set on another world is not so forgiving.

    I mine everything I read, everything I watch, for useful terms. I’m watching an episode of Hercule Poirot at the moment. He calls someone a ‘chap’. I want a new character to call Sly a ‘chappie’.

    I was afraid it was a nineteenth-century term. I looked it up. To my joy, I discover this: “Where did the description of a male as a ‘chap’ originate? From 1570s, “customer,” short for obsolete chapman in its secondary sense “purchaser, trader”. Colloquial familiar sense of “lad, fellow, man or boy” is first attested 1716.”

    Attested in writing in 1716. Probably used in conversation far earlier. Roots in Middle English. Works for me.

    You can do anything you want with a talking cat. You can do anything you want with an alien world. The only limit is the limit to your imagination. The caveat is: you have to make it feel real.

    Liked by 10 people

    1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

      I have talking birds on an alien world. Well at least she has feathers. And she sings more than she talks. But she has no wings so she uses a flying instrument to whoosh through the air.

      Liked by 8 people

    2. victoracquista Avatar
      victoracquista

      I enjoyed learning these personal details about you, Mimi. I agree that having a character such as a talking cat gives you a certain freedom to say anything you want to.

      Liked by 5 people

  4. Sandy Randall Avatar

    “You can do anything you want with a talking cat. You can do anything you want with an alien world. The only limit is the limit to your imagination. The caveat is: you have to make it feel real.”
    Exactly!! Well said!

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Carl E. Reed Avatar

      Quite agree with this, Mimi: “Prefaces are not admired these days, but a high-toned preface to a work of silly, faux-historical fiction could be great fun. The intro by John C. Gerber to a 1930 edition of Henry James’ The Ambassadors is priceless. I’ve chuckled over it for thirty years.”

      Indeed!

      Liked by 6 people

      1. mimispeike Avatar
        mimispeike

        To clarify: The intro to The Ambassadors was priceless because of its gorgeous, literary-pundit style. The same tone applied to Sly would be priceless for the inanity of the juxtaposition.

        When one sets out to blah-blah-blah, one should be aware that blah-blah-blah. Yummy stuff that I long to give the Sly treatment to.

        Liked by 6 people

  5. themargret Avatar
    themargret

    I love that one character started you writing. Now you have someone to blame!

    Liked by 6 people

  6. GD Deckard Avatar

    I’m a fan of Mimi Speike. Her writing is as vivid and descriptive as is her artwork. The characters are deeply developed. Mimi’s stories suck you in from the first sentences and you find yourself believing what a cat says as readily as what a king says. That’s story telling!

    Liked by 6 people

Leave a comment