What is a story in terms of human experience? What does it do that is universally true for all of us? Synonyms for story include description and drama, history and myth, record and fantasy, all ways of giving understanding to events, of making sense of our relationships. A good story, one with believability, becomes our understanding of what happened and informs our sense of new experiences.

Take the shortest story as an example.
“For sale. Baby shoes. Never used.”
Once you’ve read that, a new pair of baby shoes at Goodwill are never viewed the same way.

So, if like me, you sometimes wonder why bother writing when you have so much else to do or creativity fails to motivate, or -definitely like me- you’re just being lazy, remind yourself that in many cultures, writing is seen as a means to connect with the divine. In Western culture, it allows for the preservation and transmission of knowledge, wisdom, and cultural heritage across generations. On a personal level, writing can be a deeply personal and introspective activity. It allows us to express our innermost thoughts, feelings, and experiences. Oh, and it can be art.

I mention all this because writers work to make their story real for their reader. In doing so, they both describe, and create, reality. The reader is left with a sense that they have experienced something new. And they have. Some books, like Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle, Erich Maria Remarque’s All Quiet on the Western Front, and Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring, have profoundly altered their readers’ perceptions of reality.

Stories that create a new bit of reality are like Schrödinger’s Cat – they come into existence when read.

What is a story to you?


21 responses to “What Is A Story”

  1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

    A story has a beginning, middle, and end. It has a conflict and a resolution. It has good guys and bad guys. It may have a moral lesson, and show personal development.

    So it’s clearly not like real life. Life is the never-ending story. It has no beginning and no end. Except for our individual ends; but then these often come upon us before we experience any resolution or learn any lesson. We die right in the middle of the story. What’s the fun of that?

    If I look at my personal story, I have a bunch of things I want to get done before I kick the bucket. But I’d better hurry, because, you never know. My wife died when she was within a chapter of finishing her novel. And she had notes for three others. Very unfair.

    Life stories don’t follow the rules.

    Liked by 8 people

    1. GD Deckard Avatar

      Yup. I have to agree, Mike. “Life stories don’t follow the rules.”

      Sometimes I suspect life has no rules. That it’s not a matter of matter and energy, like the rest of the universe. That maybe life itself is fundamentally apart from matter & energy. I have had friends, Wiccan and Hindu, react as if I were a simpleton for even thinking otherwise.

      If so, the essence of a story doesn’t need agreed upon rules.
      “For sale. Baby shoes. Never used.”
      It just needs to capture a bit of our own never-ending story.

      Liked by 4 people

  2. John Correll Avatar

    A story doesn’t really need a beginning or an end. It doesn’t need good and evil, or development and morality. It certainly doesn’t need resolution, but hey, conflict? Yeah, everyone loves a fight. That’s the essence of existence. A struggle, a battle, something wrong, or just royally fucked. It’s not whether we win or lose, but whether we play the game at all. Something like that.

    Occasionally, I tell the Labrador a little story. “I’m not going to give you this disgusting bowl of slaughterhouse rejects tonight. What do you think about that?” This is a classic struggle between beast and person. It doesn’t matter the outcome. It’s the flash of the eyes, the wag of the tail, the slobber striking the floor. That makes the story.

    And don’t be daft; of course, I fed the bloody mutt. I’m not a complete brute. Happy end.

    Liked by 5 people

  3. John Correll Avatar

    I love the Schrödinger’s Cat picture, GD.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Carl E. Reed Avatar

    What is a story to me? Regardless of genre, when done well: A naked slice of howling life.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Perry Palin Avatar
    Perry Palin

    A story offers an understanding of a life, or lives, or events. Whether I understand the story is another thing. I have read stories that I thought were great and some that I thought were poor. I am a learner in a couple of amateur writing groups, and it’s rewarding to see some of us tweak our stories toward easier understanding.

    A story doesn’t have to have a plot. As an undergraduate I earned an “A” in an honors English class by trying to work out the thinking in the award winning non-linear short story “In The Heart Of The Heart Of The Country” by William H. Gass. It’s a wonderful story for the sounds of the words and the cadence and the sentence lengths. I can’t find a plot, but by the end of the story I know what conflict the narrator is living through.

    I’ve met my modest publishing goals and rarely submit anything anywhere anymore. I began to write, I think, as an escape from some of the less satisfying parts of my life. Now I don’t have much to escape from anymore, but I write as therapy; it’s cheaper than lying on a couch and talking to a stranger. It’s rewarding sometimes too, when for example, my narrator describes the woman he is in love with, and one of my readers said he will steal the words for next year’s Valentine’s card to his wife of 45 years.

    BTW, I’m sorry for not being more engaged here lately. I had my second cancer surgery at the end of January. Being a patient at Mayo Rochester is a full time job. Next week I start long courses of both radiation and chemotherapy. At the end of that I will be fine.

    Liked by 8 people

    1. mimispeike Avatar
      mimispeike

      Not that it’s any consolation, but many of us of ‘a certain age’ are going through health challenges. I’m thinking of you as I fight my own battles.

      Liked by 6 people

      1. Perry Palin Avatar
        Perry Palin

        Yes, Mimi. I’m afraid your health challenges may be worse than mine. This AM we had a new bed delivered by a Ukrainian truck driver who was a professional boxer in his home country. He said I looked pretty fit and healthy to him. We gave him coffee for his trip to his next delivery 130 miles away, and he wished us continued good health in the future.

        Liked by 7 people

        1. GD Deckard Avatar

          There’s a short story in that meeting, Perry.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Perry Palin Avatar
            Perry Palin

            Well, maybe. Sergiy was a great guy, friendly and efficient. He arrived an hour before expected, called from the end of the driveway to see if it was okay to come up, and I chatted in the yard with him for a few minutes while my wife stripped our old bed and moved a few pieces of furniture out of the way. He talked about how the forests, fields, and lakes in NW Wisconsin looked like his home in Ukraine. He looked to be in his 30s or 40s, had a narrow waist and hips, and a big chest and arms. I asked, and he said he was a professional boxer in his home country. His helper had not come to work, and while he said he could manage by himself, I helped him move the old bed and the new bed. His next stop was 130 miles away, in my old home town. While he finished his work I went out with the dog, thinking we should offer him coffee, at least, for his two or three hour drive. When I got back to the house my wife had given him a big mug of hot coffee. A story? I can’t find any conflict that would carry an actual story.

            Liked by 3 people

            1. Mellow Curmudgeon Avatar

              Wittgenstein famously remarked that no single property is common to everything that can correctly be called a “game” (contrary to most previous philosophers of language).  Being big on Wittgenstein, I suggest that conflict is not strictly necessary for a story.  I don’t see lack of conflict as preventing the little vignette with Sergiy from being an extremely short true story, like flash fiction but not fiction.

              Liked by 3 people

              1. John Correll Avatar

                Sometimes, the wind tells a story. Or the drip from a storm pipe hitting the ground. Someone just needs to stop and listen or watch. Entertainment is everywhere, I guess.

                Liked by 3 people

  6. Barb Woolard Avatar

    Stories are as old as humanity. From the beginning, humans have told stories to entertain themselves, to explain natural phenomena, to create new worlds, or to escape this world which doesn’t follow the rules and in which the end may come at the beginning or in the middle. Life can be hard; stories can be whatever a human mind can imagine them to be.

    Stories take us on adventures, allow us to see other places and have different experiences, let us go inside other minds. They sometimes uplift our spirits and renew our hope by teaching a lesson, by resolving all of the conflicts, by letting the good guys win.

    Stories make real life more livable. The world would be a sadder place without them.

    Liked by 8 people

  7. themargret Avatar
    themargret

    I remember entering a twelve word story contest in which I was the proud recipient of a ten pack of pencils. I forget my exact entry, but it was about the end of the world.

    Stories can be anything that evokes thought and imagination. It doesn’t have to be long or perfectly phrased. But it has to convey something.

    Liked by 8 people

    1. Barb Woolard Avatar

      Well said! And congrats on that win, though I imagine the pencils were used up long ago! 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

      1. themargret Avatar
        themargret

        Thanks! I honestly think the pencils were a participation trophy more than anything. But it was a fun contest. They were good quality pencils!

        Liked by 5 people

        1. John Correll Avatar

          There’s nothing like the feel of a good 2B for drawing and writing. Tends to smear a little for us lefties. But that’s life. Yet the true sign of a great pencil is how smoothly it sharpens on a dull blade. Never lend or lose sight of those.

          Liked by 4 people

  8. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    I’m with Barb: Stories can be whatever a human mind can imagine them to be. More to the point would be: what do you expect out of a story? And what kind of story are you driven to write? Samuel Richardson told a story entirely though letters.

    I’ve started to read his Clarissa. I’m not sure I will go the distance with it, but I want to understand a comment made in the introduction. John Angus Burrell tells us that Daniel Defoe (Robinson Crusoe) invented. And that Samuel Richardson creates. I think I have Robinson here but if not, it will be on Gutenberg.

    That’s Gutenberg.org. Not Guttenberg.org. Someone has set up an alternate site, to what end I haven’t cared to discover.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. GD Deckard Avatar

      Probably just can’t spell.

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment