Sandy is an exceptionally active member of Writers Co-op. Not only does she contribute posts, participate in Show Case, and interact in all comment discussions, but she also created and co-ordinates WiP Wednesday, our authors’ workshop. In her time away from Writers Co-op, she reads, writes, works, and creates art. Ask her about her artwork and her Zazzle shop. You can see examples of her work as illustrations for her posts and Show Case submissions.

Here’s what she has to say about the influence books have had on her.

My earliest reading memory:

I don’t have a memory of learning to read. I’m sure it began the same way as it does for most people. I do remember my dad reading to my brother and me. I loved the way my dad read. He brought Rowsby Woof and the Fairy Wogdog to life (in Watership Down.) As a child, however, I also remember getting impatient while listening to him read The Hobbit. That book woke up my appetite for devouring books. I have been a book dragon ever since. 

I credit my dad for introducing me to a wide variety of genres. From Tolkien, to Steinbeck, to Tom Clancy and Ken Follet, to HP Lovecraft, Roald Dahl, and Stephen King, to historical novels and books about rocks. (This sentence is starting to read to the tune of Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer!) We even kept a copy of All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot in the bathroom. The chapters were short and easy to read in one sitting. 

My favorite book growing up:

There is never just one … Hands Down, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. Yet, there was also The Velveteen Rabbit, and the Narnia series. These books set my imagination on fire. 

My childhood began in Indiana, with road trips west to Oklahoma and California (yes, on the Mother Road and in a station wagon) to visit Mom’s side of the family.

Eventually, we moved to Western Colorado, but traveling from our tiny town to Denver was a minimum of five hours. While my brother and I each had a stash of comic books, my book collection started to have more words and fewer pictures. The words would flip the switch in my head and turn into movies as I read. 

The book that changed me as a teenager:

Again, there isn’t just one … I will say the King James version of The Bible had some influence over me, but not in the way the Baptist church intended. Remember the fantasy novels of my childhood? I viewed the bible as another fantasy. (still do). I began to question the indoctrination being fed to me. My skeptic was born.

John Jakes’ Historical Novels, The Kent Family Chronicles and North and South fascinated me. I wanted to write an epic book series like Jakes. I sent him a fan letter and got a typed response on a 3X5 note card with his signature (I have that card somewhere … I hope. It’s the only autograph I ever asked a celebrity for, aside from a David Ross signed baseball from the Cubs 2016 World Series.) It was that response that cemented my desire to be a writer. I was about thirteen at the time. 

Writing this, I wondered if the guy was still alive. He passed away 11 March 2023 at the age of 90. Bummer, another writer I missed the opportunity to meet.

The writer who changed my mind:

Again with the plural… In high school I was enamored with John Jakes and his series of historical novels, particularly The Kent Family Chronicles. Because of those novels I eventually found my way to Boston, toured the USS Constitution (the oldest commissioned ship in the US Navy), and I fell in love with epic historical sagas. Then Anne Rice, and her literary style applied to vampires, the castrati, witches and later her version of Christ and werewolves (not all in one story), taught me there was an elegant way to write gritty stories. I wish I could have met her. The best I can do now is go to New Orleans and pay my respects at her grave. I intend to do that.

I must add Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Neil Gaiman as influences. 

These writers didn’t so much as change my mind but helped me unlock my imagination and set it free.

The book that made me want to be a writer: 

Every book I ever read, especially the ones I disliked. It usually isn’t the story, but the writer failing to do the story justice. 

The book I could never read again: 

Atlas Shrugged. I’d rather watch grass grow or paint dry.

The book I am currently reading: 

Currently I am  reading Curtis Bausse’ One Green Bottle, and re-reading The Song of Albion Trilogy by Stephen Lawhead. I can’t read just one book at a time. I also added The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy to my current reads. That book comes up regularly in conversation here. I figured it was time to revisit. The last time I read it, I was in my twenties. This time it is a fabulous vacation for my brain! I also just received the hard copy of Victor’s Nihilist Pocket Guide. It’s in my queue. For the moment, however, Rabbit Hole 7 submissions have my front and center attention.

A side effect of books on my writing life: 

Every story I write has a library. No matter how fantastical I get, there is always …. ALWAYS a place for a library!

Finally, I must express my gratitude to the land of Writer’s Co-op and its denizens for welcoming me home and helping me improve my craft. Thank You! 


26 responses to “In the Spotlight: Sandy Randall”

  1. Mike Van Horn Avatar

    Every time I read one of these profiles, I think of things I should have said in my Spotlight.

    These pieces are like conversations. We should all be sitting around a campfire in the mountains having this confab, pouring cheap red wine from a box, throwing another log on the fire, stirring up the embers, putting on our down vests to ward off the chill, talking late into the night.

    Liked by 7 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      That sounds amazing…
      I have a small 2.5 acre woods in my backyard… y’all can hang out there … probably best when it’s not raining….

      Liked by 5 people

    2. Sandy Randall Avatar

      You have to know your spotlight has helped shaped those that followed in your wake … I know you offered inspiration for my answers!
      Besides… who said you couldn’t answer them again? Spotlight take two or something…

      Liked by 6 people

    3. GD Deckard Avatar

      I’m in! Even though I’m always the one sitting downwind of the camp fire.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        Someone has to draw the smoke away from everyone else … I seem to remember an old saying … Smoke follows beauty …

        Liked by 6 people

  2. Sandy Randall Avatar

    And just so y’all know… it is absolutely correct for a Book Dragon to right …. Especially since we knock shit over with our abnormally large tales…

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Barb Woolard Avatar

      Thank you. I’ve been trying to think of a tactful way to mention that. 🙂 What a great literary story you have, Sandy!

      Liked by 5 people

      1. Sandy Randall Avatar

        Awww shucks 😊Barb

        Liked by 4 people

      2. Sandy Randall Avatar

        It’s Sue… I suspect it was deliberate… there’s a witticism in there, I’m sure of it!

        Liked by 4 people

        1. Barb Woolard Avatar

          I thought the same thing, but I guess I’m not witty enough to get it. 🙂

          Liked by 4 people

          1. Sandy Randall Avatar

            Me either… so I made up my own… 🤣

            Liked by 4 people

        2. Sue Ranscht Avatar

          Hahaha! Nah, just a careless typo and worse copy editing. It should have been “rites”. (What might that mean as a verb? Coven work? Ritual sacrifice?)

          I like yours!

          Liked by 5 people

          1. Sandy Randall Avatar

            Passage from hatchling to full fledged published dragon…

            Liked by 3 people

            1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

              My mind is devolving.

              Liked by 4 people

              1. Sandy Randall Avatar

                That sounds freeing…

                Liked by 4 people

  3. GD Deckard Avatar

    You are a perfect denizen of Writers Co-op land, Sandy!

    And, I think, we should change our title line from
    “WRITERS CO-OP: A WRITER COMMUNITY FOR YOU”
    to your phrase:
    “WRITERS CO-OP: WELCOME HOME”

    It’s friendlier.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      I like that GD! It’s always good to be home!

      Liked by 5 people

  4. Carl E. Reed Avatar

    This was great fun to read, Sandy! I loved learning about your literary influences.

    And this gem:

    The book that made me want to be a writer: 

    Every book I ever read, especially the ones I disliked. It usually isn’t the story, but the writer failing to do the story justice. 

    ……….

    Indeed!

    PS. Condolences on having read anything by the sociopathic Ayn Rand, heh!

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      Thanks Carl!

      Ayn Rand … good description. But if I ever have the need to write a sociopath … I have some of the research done … I can throw in an Ex for good measure! Plus I think I can write something existential about drying paint … but just because I can … thinking maybe I shouldn’t!

      Liked by 5 people

  5. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    Sandy, you and Sue both amaze me with all you do around here. I barely keep up with the deadlines. I’m seriously stressed.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      You do better than me Mimi. The only deadline I don’t struggle to meet is feeding the dogs. They are task masters!

      Stress … It’s dressed in wishes and wants. It’s really a bitch. I’d like to strip it naked and ship it to the north pole and leave me in peace!

      Liked by 5 people

  6. DocTom Avatar
    DocTom

    I just want to mention that Sandy has done a great job as a co-editor for the Rabbit Hole vol. 6 and 7. The anthologies would not have happened if it were not for her.

    Liked by 6 people

    1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

      Now I’m embarrassed I didn’t include that information in her brief bio. I’m sorry, Sandy.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Sandy Randall Avatar

      Aww Thanks Tom. It’s been a great experience for me. I appreciate the opportunity! (Just keep me away from the delete button!🤣

      Do not be embarrassed Sue. I may be busy, but I can’t hold a candle to you! You’re busy, and have the super power of thinking straight while lacking sleep. Keeping up with whatever I’ve poked my nose in … I can’t even remember it all (I really need a personal assistant! lol My three, four-legged tag-a-longs, think they assist ….)

      Liked by 5 people

  7. victoracquista Avatar
    victoracquista

    Sandy, I loved getting to know your story a little. Book dragon is going to stick in my mind or my craw until I come up with something. Fire consumes…book burning…devourer of stories… Got it! Perhaps here in the dictatorial state of Florida where censorship is sanctioned there can be a dragon that consumes all the banned books and removes them from circulation. Destroys ideas, prevents curious minds of children such as you were from reading and immersing themselves in new ideas. It would be fine if the dragon devoured all of Ayn Rand but that would probably cause heartburn or indigestion or some form of charred emesis.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Sandy Randall Avatar

      Thanks Victor!
      I’m happy to inspire.
      Dragons have always been a love for me. Dragons, horses, dogs and cats. All a girl’s best friend.
      Later in life, when I learned about Chinese astrology… I learned I was born in the year of the dragon.
      I consider a book dragon a defender of books, considering most of them come to life from a skilled writer’s imagination. Wow be to the fool who would destroy books!!
      Can you imagine burning The Hobbit? I think Smaug would roil from the book and devour the good for nothing book burner! Lol
      Let’s turn our literary dragons on the dictatorial beasts of Florida!

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment