“Being an author is a lonely business. It comes down to you and your computer, memorializing your words and then putting them in print, casting them upon the digital waves of the universe. It is lonely, but you don’t have to be alone. 20Booksto50k shows that we are in this together, and our goal is that you take what you learn here and climb to the next level in your author journey.”
– From the 20Booksto50k conference announcement:
“It’s Vegas Baby! November 6-8, 2018. A 20Booksto50k Educational and Networking Event”
http://20booksvegas.com/

“We are the indies, and 20Books is about indies supporting indies.”
I’m writing about this writers’ group because so many of them appear to be successful authors. Here’s a couple examples:

“Here are my results: I made $10k in my first 90 days, I’ve made $60k in 150 days, I’m on track to hit $300k this year – Obviously things can happen. My goal for March is $17,360. I’m projecting a gross of $25k this month – over $20k has been sold to date.
‘So what’ I’ve been told. You got lucky, your writing is crap – it’s poorly edited, you need to do better. You need to do this, you need to do that. To those I would suggest that the ONLY one who has a vote is the person who pays you and pays me. The reader.”
– Michael Anderle

Author Craig Martelle reports monthly income for the year ending March 2018 at about $15,000, with the lowest month under $10,000 and the highest over $20,000.

The 20Booksto50k Facebook site is crammed full of very specific experiences from authors. Many make their living by writing, others are on their way to doing so.

Just sayin’, it can be done 🙂


10 responses to “20 Books to 50K”

  1. twkirchner Avatar

    Interesting. Hadn’t heard about it. I wouldn’t need to travel far…20 minutes. Haha

    Liked by 2 people

    1. GD Deckard Avatar
      GD Deckard

      Go for it, TW 🙂 They probably have slots in the lobby. To defray costs.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kris Avatar

        It actually sells out within hours of registration opening. However, there’s usually someone who gets ill or has some other conflict and needs to sell their ticket at the last minute. If and when that happens, Craig will make an announcement in the Facebook group. They used to have a waitlist, but I’m not sure if they do now.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    I’m hoping videos of this end up on YouTube.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Kris Avatar

      Louie Carr posted the videos from last year on his YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/user/carrlouie). I suspect he’ll do the same this year – either way, they’ll post a link to the videos in the Facebook group after the conference this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    I’ve started to read The Rise of Silas Lapham by William Dean Howells. I don’t know if I’ll finish it. I’m reading, as usual, for the style. I am struck by a remark in the introduction.

    A number of celebrated (now) writers of that generation (1885) debated whether to give up their day jobs (editors, professors) and bet the farm on being able to earn a living off their writing.

    We today have more avenues for self promotion. Howells took a lot of heat for writing Realism at that time, against the tide of the popular romantic stuff. That he despised. There was a serious debate about whether society’s losers deserved to be written about. Many were offended by it.

    I don’t fault anyone for writing what they write. Good luck to all. I only hope there’s a place for all at the table.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. victoracquista Avatar
    victoracquista

    It is nice to know that some indies are doing that well. Is it luck, good writing, good marketing??? What is the secret formula? I’ll answer for myself. There is no secret formula; however, I’ll bet there are some common characteristics among successful indies: hard work, perseverance, reasonably good writing, marketing skill–the 99% perspiration stuff.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. curtisbausse Avatar

      Very right – and I’m starting to think that perseverance tops the list.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    Victor, I will add to this, some genres seem to have a ready-made audience. Romance, sci-fi and mystery all have enthusiastic fans and groups, conventions, all that helps get you known. Anyone who can tap into that should.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. No One Plays Video Games Anymore | Rawle Nyanzi Avatar

    […] if nobody read, 20 Books to 50K wouldn’t be a viable […]

    Like

Leave a comment