Liebster2The Writers Co-op has been nominated for the 2018 Leibster Blog Award.
The Liebster Award is an award that is given to bloggers by other bloggers. We were nominated by former Liebster winner, novelist Stephanie Barr.
Entries start 1st Jan 2018 and end on 25th Dec 2018. The winner will be picked on the 31st of December. (This year, the prize will be a BioLite Camp Stove worth £150.)

As a member of the Co-op, you may submit your individual blog according to the rules outlined below.

Liebster3
What to Do if Nominated for the Liebster Award

Source: https://theglobalaussie.com/liebster-award-2018/
Back in 2011 the rules were a simple case of acknowledgement of the nominator and to nominate 5 more. Now in 2018 it is a little more involved and will continue to evolve as blogging becomes more accessible.

If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, you should do the following:
1. Thank the person who nominated you, and put a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you. They will thank you for it and those who you nominate will also help you out as well.
2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
3. For the 2018 Liebster Award, I will be shaking things up! Write a small post about what makes you passionate about blog posting.
4. Provide 10 random facts about yourself. (Again this year I’m making this optional. If you wish to engage with your readers it’s a great idea to include random facts about you.)
5. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel would enjoy blogging about this award.
6. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here or simply link to this post.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
7. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post or mine if you don’t have all the information so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it! Post a comment in the comments below so I can view your post and check out your blog. I personally visit each and every one. I visited a few hundred last year!!

If you have been nominated before at any time please share the love. Many people believe the Liebster award is similar to a chain email/letter and sure it shares similarities but the underlining idea is to help promote each others’ blogs.


6 responses to “The Writers Co-op: 2018 Liebster Blog Award Nominee”

  1. Sue Ranscht Avatar

    Congratulations to Writers Co-op for the Liebster Award nomination! I admit I have been one of those who think of the thank-your-nominator-then-nominate-xnumber-of-others awards as chain letters with award stickers that bloggers can post on their blogs as evidence of validation. I am encouraged that this one offers a prize of some value, and I do understand and appreciate that the underlying idea is to promote each other’s blogs.

    Perhaps I should re-adjust my thinking.

    Most contests in which participants vie for a top prize provide clear notice of how and by whom the winner will be selected. I don’t see that here. But because the participation period is an entire year and will include potentially thousands of nominees, I am especially curious about the selection process.

    Is it one person, (presumably the Global Aussie — possibly named Liebster — who initiated this award in 2011)? Are the blogs nominated early in the year at a disadvantage because the judge’s memory of their blogs likely fades over the year? Or are we to believe the Global Aussie follows every nominated blog for the remainder of the year in order to keep their memories fresh? Or is this actually a Sweepstakes wherein the winner’s name is drawn out of a hat?

    As a sometimes absent blogger, I admit that while I follow a high number of blogs, there are really only a few I actually read on a regular basis. There simply aren’t enough hours to read them all. I suspect I am not alone in this practice, if we are all being honest.

    I sincerely hope Writers Co-op wins the BioLite Camp Stove worth £150, and then invites novelist Stephanie Barr and the Global Aussie to be Guests of Honor at a cook out everyone who reads Writer Co-op — even only occasionally — is welcome to attend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. GD Deckard Avatar
      GD Deckard

      Hi Sue!
      My guess is yours 🙂 I think one guy picks a blog he/she likes best. But, I don’t care.
      It’s a fun way to increase traffic to your web site.
      It’s for you & every other contributor here. So, do feel free to participate.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    I don’t know quite what to say. Reading past entries, I am reminded of the question Barbara Walters asked of someone in one of her celebrated prime-time interviews thirty-plus years ago, that she was mocked for ever after:

    If you were a tree, what kind of tree would you be?

    It is, however, publicity, and that’s always good.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. GD Deckard Avatar
      GD Deckard

      “If you were a tree, what kind of tree would you be?”
      Worried, that if I fell, nobody would hear me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mimispeike Avatar
    mimispeike

    I have checked out a dozen or so of those blogs. Several related to travel. (Now I get the camp-stove prize.) Some glimpses from daily lives. One, repeated apologies for having been lax about blogging (and throwing Bible verses at me right and left). I find nothing writing-related.

    Last night I snagged a printout of the NCE (Norton Classic Edition) Tristram Shandy, with a fat appendix of contemporary criticism and hilarious comments on his style. He copied Rabelais? Don’t have a clue. Ah! Rabel “. . . praised for his use of language and satire.”

    I’m highlighting passages like crazy. Sterne said “Everybody gets to write his story his way.” He also said: “I’ll be writing this until the day I die.” We are soul-mates.

    I need a college class on Tristram to understand some of this stuff. But, what fun! I want to find a blog devoted to Laurence Sterne. Anybody know of one, give me the link.

    I am really excited about Sterne. There are many lessons for me here. And, a ton of laughs. Love it that he placed his prologue several chapters into the work, explaining that he simply hadn’t gotten around to it until then. This is as much fun as Sly.

    Here is the blog I would enter in this contest. I just registered with WordPress: ILoveTristramShandy.blog

    I don’t want a camp stove. I despise camping out. If I win, I award it to GD.

    Like

Leave a comment